A space for collecting imperfect notes, essays, posts, and poems

dispatch #9

I haven’t been in your inbox for awhile, and that’s mainly because I’ve been focussing on writing for and from my website. I think I mentioned my disillusionment with Substack previously, and why I started sending out the dispatches from here.

My writing has slowed down here because the website has been keeping me super busy and I’m starting to get traction there with my new commenting system. If you haven’t been to my main sit in a while, check it out.

Here’s the thing, I know everybody is busy. Who wants to add ‘check for latest post from soulcruzer’ on their to-do list? If your to-do list is as long as mine, I’m fairly certain you don’t want to add another item to it.

So my solution, of course, is to make the dispatches a weekly digest of the latest posts from the website. That way the posts come to you instead of you to them. If you’re old school, you could just use my RSS feed, but second to that is email.

I’ve moved away from calling my site a blog because blogs have a different association now then they did in the past. My website is now my digital garden. Digital gardens have recaptured the original ethos of blogs and blogging. I’ll let you Google digital gardens if you want to know more. Or check out Maggie Appleton’s A Brief History & Ethos of the Digital Garden. 

On that note, here is this week’s digest.

Posts
longform posts exploring an idea or concept

Carrying on from my conversation on the mythic imagination and Stephen Larsen’s book on the subject, I did a quick SketchWow infographic to give a quick overview of the book. Read more

In this episode, I share my answer to the question I’ve been wrestling with: how do you reduce the interference of fear and ego? Fear and ego often show up as these trickster forces that keep us trapped in outdated stories about who we are and what’s possible. I found a few things you can do to shift your relationship with fear and ego that will help you balance and embrace them. Listen

In this episode, I unpack my thoughts about blogging for self-expression and self-discovery, digging into my journey to reclaim creativity in the chaotic noise of social media. I also share some raw insights about working with the Light Seers Tarot Deck, especially how the King of Wands, King of Swords, Queen of Swords, and Knight of Swords have stepped in as my guides. Tune in as I explore the balance between leadership, creativity, and building authentic online spaces. Listen

Are you a free spirit, tech rebel, or modern-day savage who refuses to fit the mould? I’m leading a guerrilla movement to bring back the rawness of early blogging, before the algorithms and ad deals took over—when the web was wild, free, and fuelled by self-expression. This is where we unplug from the Matrix and reconnect with what really matters: our inner worlds, genuine connections, and the thrill of being alive. Read more

Notes
loose notes on things that have caught my attention

Journal
updates on things i’m thinking, feeling, seeing, or hearing about

Here’s a tough question that’s come my way: Where in my life am I avoiding the truth or sidestepping something important? As I ask that, I can see a list of things I’m avoiding and the importance of those things. My reaction is another question: Am I ready to tackle them? I’ve always questioned myself about whether I’m avoiding the truth. When I look at those things, I think I could take them on, but I feel like they would hold me back, leading to navel-gazing and grinding to a halt. Read more

As I look at this card, I’m reminded of the importance of returning to my inner strength. It’s not about shutting out the external world, but about not spending my energy seeking other people’s opinions, thoughts, or ways of doing things. For me, this card is a reminder that true strength lies within. It calls me to spend time with myself, with spirit, and to focus on my own journey instead of getting distracted by how others are living, thinking, or progressing. By focussing on my path, I can naturally become a light and inspiration to others. This is what stands out to me as I reflect on this card. Read more

me: I’m coming to the journal in an odd, hyper-focused space while simultaneously staring down into the pit of despair. I clearly see the absurdity of my actions and all that I’ve worked on today. What’s frustrating is that it’s where I want to play, but I fear that the state of the world is overcommoditised, with people groomed into perfect little consumption automatons in a world built around money. Read more

Love the content and want to show your support? You can contribute in a few different ways. Whether it’s a like and share, a cup of coffee through Ko-Fi, a tip in Bitcoin, or a donation via PayPal, your generosity helps keep my spaces alive, authentic, and ad-free.

Thank you for your attention. 🙏✨